PH and me.

quilt at conference

quilt at conference

One of my medical problems is Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension.

Pulmonary hypertension is not well-known. I had never heard of it. All I knew in 2007  was I was having a hard time breathing.

It felt like something was sitting on my chest. I was throwing up and didn’t want to eat. All this started on the way home after a procedure on my AVM.

It took three weeks in the hospital and lots of tests before I started to feel better.

Walking up stairs, especially carrying the laundry can cause me to be short of breath.

I had to give up any exercise classes. Over the years I learned  to walk  at my own pace.

There are times its hard to walk and carry on a conversation.

In April Dave and I went to a PH support group. The support group leader wants to do a fund-raiser for PH.

Around here nobody knows what PH is. So this is my attempt to let others know what PH is

At the  conference there was a booth giving on free business cards about PH.

We were told to use the business cards to explain about ph.  I haven’t tried them out yet but plan to at our family reunion.

One side describes what Pulmonary Hypertension is:

  • Pulmonary Hypertension (PH) or high blood pressure in the lungs is a chronic and currently incurable disease that can lead to right heart failure; treatment can help
  • People with pulmonary hypertension often do not look sick
  • Common symptoms include breathlessness, fatigue, dizziness, hoarseness, chest pain or heaviness and swelling of the arms and legs.
  • There are multiple treatments available for ph

Web sites to check out:

pha association

lipspaintedblue.com

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

