PH Conference Info

IMG_0462I enjoyed attending the 2014 Pulmonary Hypertension International Conference in Indiana.

Dave and I had a good time.

It was a four-hour drive.  Yes I was really tired when we got home.

When everyone got together for meals and programs they there were two big screen televisions so everyone could see.

For someone who had only met two other ladies with PH it was really big. There were people of all ages, from all parts of the USA and I think 35 countries.

 All ages attended. We saw families with babies who had oxygen. Adults with and without oxygen.

They had a kids room with lots of activities. The PH kids went swimming and to the children’s museum.

There was lots to do lots to see and lots of walking.

Every conference there is a fashion show. The fashion show is to hide or flaunt the oxygen and iv drug ports.

I was right in the middle of going through the research room during the fashion show. Then sitting in another line for a blood draw.

Most of the sessions I attended were medically lead. I attended the basics of PH. Every time I had heard them before I was in a hospital bed.

I went to the long-term survivors group. If you were diagnosed eight years or longer you are considered long-term survivor.

Dave went to the caregivers support group.  He had not been to a caregiver support group before.

IMG_0466

There were computers set up to blog from the conference. I tried a couple of time but could not get them to work.

I got some informative and useful handouts. At one booth I got a big stack of business cards.

One side had wad Pulmonary Hypertension is. The other side was about how doctors look for horses instead of zebras.

I had read about doctors needing to look for zebras on another blog. Looking for horses means doctors need to think what is more common first.

Sounds familiar !!

Leave a Reply

