Women Helping Women

English: Forget-me-not flowers. Türkçe: Unutma...

English: Forget-me-not flowers. Türkçe: Unutma beni çiçekleri. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I think I have the girl scout sewing badge. But I can’t sew.

  The only thing I can do is sew on a button. As a kid my grandma did all our sewing.

Her house was one house away from ours.  Any sewing we needed done  grandma would do it. She would feed you those small powered sugared doughnuts while you waited.

I think my grandma helped me with  my unfinished eight grade sewing project.

So go figure I can’t sew.

The 5th Ever Bra-zeer Decorating Event is October 23.

This event raises money for cancer screenings for qualified Medina county women.

You pick a theme and decorate a bra.

Hope

Hope (Photo credit: mrsdkrebs)

Women helping Women is a theme brazier decorating contest.

The purpose is to raise money for cancer screening for local uninsured women.

I have the application and finally decided what I want to make. Now this is a theme contest.

This past week I saw the pictures of last year’s winners. Boy do I need to up my design. These ladies take bra art to a new level.

For a local elementary schools 100th anniversary someone entered a bra titled She is a Brick House. Yes the school is brick and looks like the school I went to.

At the library someone entered Fifty shades of Pink.  Check out Facebook to see a bra decorated with lifesavers made by the local health department.

Boy oh boy I hope my bra was in one piece last year. I was on crutches and unable to attend.

This year I want to use Hope its in their Genes, from global genes has my theme.

Along with a paper explaining rare diseases, Cowden Syndrome and the cancer risk that go with it.

Maybe have a pair of jeans with the bra.

Last night I went looking for supplies. There was lots of fall things and anything you wanted pink.

But not a lot of blue. I’m glad I have time to look.

This is the first time I have attempted any type of rare gene awareness.

So my first time will be local, art related and my theme is not well known.

Any thoughts or suggestions please!

*So if your interested check Medina County Women Helping Women on Facebook

Leave a Reply

