Hope

English: Rose മലയാളം: പനിനീര്‍പ്പൂവ്‍

English: Rose മലയാളം: പനിനീര്‍പ്പൂവ്‍ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 It took a while but, I have finally figured out I was sad.

Last week I got an out-of-town call. At the beginning of June an old friend had passed away. It should not have surprised me,she was 85.

Her daughter was going through her phone book and called.

My friend was a friend when I was going through a major life change and needed someone who understood that.

She like me for me. I was in the middle of finishing my undergraduate degree, she helped me with a class assignment. The class was Family Living. Through that assignment I learned

what it was like for her growing up one of eight children. She talked about celebrating Christmas. Getting an orange was a great Christmas present when she was a girl.

Spring Flowers

Spring Flowers (Photo credit: Curtis Fry)

 How in her mother’s room there was always a crib because growing up in a large family there was always a baby.

She talked about the many trails she had raising her daughter and  reminded me to keep praying for my children. God is still with them.

My friend was in her 80’s and still swam.  I’m happy I knew her. Glad she is in heaven enjoying her reward.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

